The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
My 8 hour screen job kills my hobby
Old 4th November 2020
My 8 hour screen job kills my hobby

Hi friends,

I would be interested to know if there are people here who, besides an 8 hour screen job, produce music on the screen as a hobby.

It's kind of getting on my nerves to sit down after work and I'm constantly feeling unable to do so, so I'm in the process of completely outsourcing the production and only recording, composing and making music. I also have children, so I always get to them late.

It's a bit sad and unsatisfying because I'm an artist and write my own songs, but I can't produce them myself, even though I have the finest equipment lying around and I'd like to.

I've already thought about changing my job, away from screen work. But this is easier said than done as a skilled software developer.

Are there any fellow sufferers here? Any advice?
Old 4th November 2020
Back in 98/99 when buying my first gear I went for hardware based partially on liking the MPC workflow and looking at screens most of the day at my job - which at the time involved a lot of LabView software programming day after day. There are plenty of options available to you. I make Hip Hop so as is sample based I went for an MPC plus a Roland SP808 sampling workstation back then and still use the MPC but now with better console and outboard processors and still occasionally find a use for the Roland. I do a final bounce to a DAW just to get my master into computer world to pass on to the vocalists.

There are plenty of digital hardware or ADAT recorders around and dirt cheap now so if working with live instruments that kind of set up can work for you. The only downside is the cost of hardware compared to plugins but that's never bothered me as I still have hardware 20 years later that doesn't require constant updates or is lost when not compatible with a new DAW or operating system so swings and roundabouts to some extent.