The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
Please take a listen to my first mix
Old 18th October 2013
Gear Head

Please take a listen to my first mix

Hello Gearslutz,

i'm really new to the Forum and i'm a beginner in terms of recording and mixing.
I did a first mix (preproduction) for my band and i would really appreciate it if
anyone could give some advices in how to make it better.

Thank you very much!
I'm in the "learning process" and i know that they are maybe a lot of mistakes i made, but any tip of would help me to do some improvements.

For example i find the guitars a little bit harsh, but on the other side, i like the guitars to be bright and shiny. Any opinions?

Thank you all so very much!

Recording music is so wonderful!

Daniel

Link:

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/...-Fireworks.mp3
Old 18th October 2013
Gear Addict

Well done

Your first mix? Congatulations, pretty well done!
Old 18th October 2013
Gear Head

Thanks!
I use only my ears, because i never did a school for recording or something.
Thats maybe why i made a few mistakes in eqing and compressing i think.
Old 18th October 2013
Gear Maniac

yeah it sounded good to me dude, guitars were little harsh for couple of brief moments, maybe due to strength of strumming etc?

But for most part thought it was ok.
Old 18th October 2013
Gear Addict

Great mix! Cool song, also. The bass guitar could use just a bit more articulation (upper harmonics) to help it cut through, and the lowest octave of the bass (below 80Hz) could be evened out a little (it can be challenging to get it right, though).

Great stuff, though - cheers!
Rob
Old 18th October 2013
Lives for gear

This sounds good, but sooooo squashed. No dynamics. I know that's how it is nowadays, but still. Easily the loudest thing I'll listen to all day.

I don't find the guitars overly harsh, if you do, try a gentle (6db) low pass filter around 4-6k on them.