The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
Harshness and lack of clearness in a new engineer's first heavy rock mix
Old 11th May 2013
Gear Head

Harshness and lack of clearness in a new engineer's first heavy rock mix

Hello everyone.

I've been checking up this forum since 2012, when I first decide to really move on with my home studio project, but never posted, neither registered.

I'm very glad with all the info that I've had on every single post I read here, but this time I needed to hear a direct answer for my problem: my mix.

So, as a beginner I have a series of doubts that are making me insane about my harsh and distant mix. I ran a low cost studio (actually not so low considering Brazil's importing taxes policy) and I need to have some directions about my mistakes.

Can I do it way better with the gear I own? Can I mix it better to a nearly commercial status? Should've I used better recording techniques?

Just for the record, I really dont have the experience that most of the people here have, but I studied a lot before started to recording (even done a internship in a reputed local studio), so even though I'm open for every tip or lesson, consider that - theoretically - I know the basics of a recording and mixing session.

The gear I used was:

Drums:
Ludwig Vistalite 1970
Zildjan and sabian cymbals
(20' K ride and aax 19' crash)

Mics:

Kick: Akg D112
Snare top: Shure sm 57
Snare bottom: Shure sm 58
Hi hat (almost dead in this mix): mxl 991 - one of my first mistakes, really low spl taken by this mic and no -20dB pad
Rack ton: Akg P 4
Floor ton: Akg P 2
Overheads: Akg P 17
Room mic R: Akg P 420
Room mic L: Rode NT 1a

Guitar:

Gibson Les Paul Standard
Gibson Goldtrone combo amp
Mesa Boogie Nomad into a marshall 4x12 cabinet
Used a Shure SM 57 off axis and ocasionally a SM 58 a little more distant (only on the goldtrone - like 1 ft away)

Bass:

Fender Precision bass
Line input

Vocals: