The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Newbie here Needs help with Simmons SDS-9 Repair
Old 20th April 2013
Here for the gear

Newbie here Needs help with Simmons SDS-9 Repair

Hello everyone, first time poster here and need some help from someone who knows the internal workings of a vintage Simmons SDS-9 drum synth controller/brain very well.

First the issue of what it is doing, but not supposed to:
It powers up normally and runs its self-test as it should and then goes to normal startup mode. The display shows "1" as it should and the kit number and mode selector led's light up as normal. Now, this is the part where things get strange. The trigger input LED for the third "tom" channel starts to flash and generates sounds on its own without a pad hooked up to the channel and without the autorun function turned on. Then gradually ALL the channels start to do this randomly until finally all the channel's trigger input led's are on and it pretty much generates a buzzing noice from the headphone output.

I have opened the case and found that the memory battery had leaked and failed. I purchased a new one of the same type and have fitted that to the board and now the issue seems worse and more consistant than before the battery was replaced. The other thing I found was the insulator pad that is bonded to the top of the power transformer coil had broken loose from the coil and was floating around inside. I have reattached that to the coil, but it seems to make no difference. I'm thinking that the processor chip may have shorted when this happened, but can't confirm this. There is no visual evidence of anything burned out or and scorch marks on the PC board.

I have tried "dumping" the memory and reloading the factory settings, but it also does not seem to change anything as far as what the machine does.