The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
The Haight - Work in Progress! Your Suggestions?
Old 16th May 2006
Gear Maniac

The Haight - Work in Progress! Your Suggestions?

While I have recorded in the past, ive not done much but demo stuff. I finally decided to get down to business and do a serious recording myself. It takes all day huh? And then sometimes you gotta start all over again! =] This is my first attempt at a serious recording.

I recorded this today. This is my first mixdown. After listening too it, its clear Ive got to at least re-record the bass track, its over modulating in parts. As for the rest, I'm going to add some more vocals, and maybe re-do a couple. Myabe the guitars need some eqing? They sound good on my 20/20's but they sound a little high in the 300 area in my home speekers. Did this come out super loud or is just me?

Let me know what you think! And any suggestions would be awesome!

-Josh

p.s. also posted this on Recordingproject..
Attached Files

thehaight-work-in-progress-1.mp3 (3.34 MB, 88 views)

Old 17th May 2006
Lives for gear

I've always found the Events I've heard to be kinda questionable in the 200-300 range. I'd make sure you A/B your mixes with different speakers/environments throughout the process, especially if you're just starting out.

I'd like the vocals to be stronger at parts, I'd like to hear you open up more.

What bass track?
Old 18th May 2006
Gear Maniac

[QUOTE=AlexLakis]I've always found the Events I've heard to be kinda questionable in the 200-300 range. /QUOTE]

Agreed. I cant hear the boomy-ness that I hear in my car and on my other speekers. I have a set of Bose cube speekers combined with a sub that I use as a refferance just becuase I know how they sound. And its really boomy in the 200-300 range.. These events are not revealing that. I ust need more practice with what a good mix souds like on the events and I should be able to mix on them just fine.

What did you mean about the bass track?

-Josh
Old 18th May 2006