The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
JAZZ BAND REC & MIXING ADVICE NEEDED
Old 12th May 2006
Gear Addict

Thumbs down JAZZ BAND REC & MIXING ADVICE NEEDED

Hi everyone,

I am a student in SAE london and we have an assignment of a jazz band track project (Actually i chose jazz band topic for a bit challange for me..). I need to mix it with a behringer 20 ch mixer, with onbard fx and another fx unit patched to send/return loop(Being not able to use any other professional gear or DAW is part of the assignment). We are not allowed to use protools or anything else. Just the behringer. It has sweepable mids lowcut etc. nothing fancy, low quality of course..

Bottomline, Ive uploaded a part of the track which ive tried to mix (wet) and id greatly appreciate any advice, tips or tricks regarding the recording and mixing (obviously i can't rerecord it so we are sort of limited to mixing stage:( ) but any help is greatly apprectiated...thanks in advance...

The link for the wav file(It's not big, about 7mbyte) : http://www.audio-electro.co.uk/emre/...mre_yazgin.wav
Old 12th May 2006
Lives for gear

I like the sound and the mix of the band....they could pretty much stay as is

The Vox are where you need work - the vocalist is good but it sounds very 'honky - unpleasant mid rangy - not sure if that is the mic or the pre or your EQ but that needs to be fixed. Try cutting out some mids and boosting some Low/Mid if you can.

I also don't like how the vox sit in the mix, it kind of juts out unpleasantly when she breaks out of the scat portion and into the lyrics. Do you have any compression you can use? You might want to wet up the vox with some verb (a bit) as well.

If you make any changes I would love to hear them again, you are on the right path
Old 12th May 2006
Gear Addict