The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Looking for some feedback!!! Condenser Microphones
Old 4th September 2011
Here for the gear

Looking for some feedback!!!

Hi guys & gals,

So this is my first "real" attempt at recording my band (in reality this is my 4th attempt, the other 3 really don't count). I'm really new to the whole world of recording, mixing and so forth. I'm looking to get some honest feedback from the GS community. I'm not trying to do this professional, but at the same time don't want it to sound like crap! Any and all feedback is welcomed.

List of gear used:
windows xp
m-audio profire 2626
Adobe Audition 3.0
(2) SM57's
(1) sure beta 58 (mic **** the bed half way through the recording, low end was so fuzzy and distorted. took a lot of eq'ing to get it to sound ok.
(1) rode NT1a
(1) AKG 200

all 3 tracks mixed using sony MDR-7506 headphone.

track 1 "no fun at all"
broadcaster - No fun at all (the down) by **** wolf on SoundCloud - Create, record and share your sounds for free

track 2 "there you go again"
There you go again by **** wolf on SoundCloud - Create, record and share your sounds for free

track 3 "tiger tested"
Tiger tested by **** wolf on SoundCloud - Create, record and share your sounds for free

Thanks!
Old 5th September 2011
Here for the gear

hello??? anybody?
Old 5th September 2011
Lives for gear

The first track (No Fun At All) really does you no favours at all. Shift the order on your soundcloud, because the other two tracks are SO much better mixed.

The drums and bass on There You Go Again and Tiger Tested sound pretty cool. In comparison to these two, No Fun At All sounds like unmixed stems, or a (very) rough mix.

Whatever it is you're doing on those 2, do it to the first one.