The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Mastering advice needed on this killer track! Multi-Ef­fects Plugins
Old 2nd September 2011
Here for the gear

Mastering advice needed on this killer track!

Hey guys, I’m really hoping you can give me some help / advice on this. Below is a mixed and mastered song from a band I’m working with. Think my ears must be a bit dead from listening to it too much over the last week or so. I just can’t tell anymore if the mix is any good… and if it’s not what might it be lacking / missing

Also, I’m really trying to achieve that big full bottom end sound of most punk rock bands these days have. It’s frustrating because when I compare it to other commercial CD my mixed and mastered song is quite a bit lower in volume and lacks the ‘body’ of commercial CDs.

I’m using Ozone 3 to master and I must admit I’m a bit of a novice when it comes to engineering and mastering so I don’t know if the big bodied sound I’m looking to achieve can accomplished at the mastering stage of if I need to go back and boost or cut levels and frequencies at the mixing stage. Maybe compress things a bit more?

Really appreciate all and any advice you guys can give me on this. Before I listened to any commercial track I really like what I accomplished with this considering my experience level but I find it can be harsh when turned up so the high frequencies might need addressing I just don’t know if I should be doing this at the mixing or mastering stage.

Many thanks in advance everyone,

-Keith

HOME | Official Site 'Valentino is Dead'
Attached Files

This City Tonight edited.mp3 (2.29 MB, 179 views)

Old 2nd September 2011
Lives for gear

The thing that hits me more than anything else: Sterile drums in a punk song. But I dig the vocals.
Old 2nd September 2011
ORC
Gear Addict

Remix
Old 2nd September 2011
Here for the gear