The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
Mix Ignoramus Seeks Enlightenment
Old 22nd January 2006
Lives for gear

Mix Ignoramus Seeks Enlightenment

Hi all First of all I must say it took me a lot of courage to post here because I am a total amateur. This is a shoe-string indie project for a self-funded artiste and I have to do everything myself: arrangement, programming, playing the instruments, mix (!!!???). I know my talents are very limited but I want to help this good artiste/vocalist/songwriter see through this song as best as I can with our budget. So bad playing/arrangement aside, I need some serious help on the mix.

I am trying to make this track sound as "live" as possible, as if one is sitting in front of a live band playing in an outdoor space (drums not miked up at all), with almost zero compression or even eq (is that possible?) I like the way it sounds (refering to Mix A) in the sense that it is "open" and "natural" with all the dynamics jumping at you. Much as I revere those Lord-Alge type of "airtight-punchy-compact-sonic-fist" mixes, I am aiming to do an exact opposite in the concept for this song.

Problem is when comparing to similar genre CDs, I can tell the low end is overly dominant and totally wrong. The kick is too "full" (too much of that basketball kick sound) and the bass sounds like an elephant farting with some notes jumping out and others too soft. I can't get the snare's "thang" sound (around 700hz?) to cut through without cutting too much of "weight" in its sound (100+ to 300+ hz region ?) which makes it sounds like trash can cover.(pls refer to Mix B to hear how I totally screw it up when I try to get everything to cut through)

(Can't get worse than that right? )