The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Any input before we master this metal track would be great... Dynamics Processors (HW)
Old 19th December 2010
Here for the gear

Any input before we master this metal track would be great...

Hi I'm new to the biz and I'm learning from a great teacher here in NJ. We're working on a metal project for a friend of mine and I'd like some input on this tune if you wouldn't mind. In my opinion we need to blend backing vocals a little better and raise the volume of a few snare hits. Any other suggestions would be appreciated. Thanks.

SkylabStudios - Immaculate Deception on SoundCloud - Create, record and share your sounds for free
No download needed.
Old 20th December 2010
Gear Addict

The guitars are almost all side information with no middle. I would personally never do this.

If I had tried wearing headphones with this, I would have probably gotten nauseous from the negative correlation between left and right. :P

Anyway, if you are okay with the guitars disappearing in mono keep it that way.

Best,
Old 21st December 2010
I would have personally done a few things right off the bat differently. I by no means claim to be great at metal production, but I have gotten to work with it quite a bit up to now.

I like my kicks to be maybe a little less clicky and have more upper-mid punch.

Definitely like to hear a much fatter, fuller snare. In my case, I'll bring the bottom snare mic down a lot more and run it through some tight compression. I love the API 2500 and actually the Waves H-Comp is kinda growing on me there too. In some cases I like to use a maxx bass through some kind of soft clipping, but then again, I also trigger HEAVILY in this genre. It's hard not to anymore.