The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
Why does this sound better with multiband limiting...?
Old 2nd March 2010
Why does this sound better with multiband limiting...?

Here are two ITB masters (I am a noob/I have no money). My master bus is all waves: Linear Eq > Linear Multiband > L2. Compression in the LinMB is very light, and it essentially is just being used as a multiband limiter with the L2 catching the highest peaks (I think). The masters are identical in every way except that the multiband is bypassed in the second file maradona_nomb.mp3.

I think the master with the LinMB enabled sounds waaay better. The drums, especially, have much more top end punch. I know there is no right way to do anything, but I always thought a good eq, single band comp, and single band limiter was how most of the pros do it. Am I wrong about this? Should I invest in a real multiband limiter? Any comments on the mix/master are most appreciated.

- Rob
Attached Thumbnails
Why does this sound better with multiband limiting...?-mara_linmb.png  
Attached Files

maradona_mb.mp3 (3.93 MB, 3387 views)

maradona_nomb.mp3 (3.93 MB, 9014 views)

Old 2nd March 2010
Gear Nut

If it helps you out any the I liked it without the multi-band. The mids don't sound so forced and in your face and are much more musical. Remember don't over compress as it robs the music of its dynamics and its musicality to it. Less compression is always better
Old 2nd March 2010