The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
Rock Mix - First time doubling GTRS
Old 6th July 2009
Gear Maniac

Rock Mix - First time doubling GTRS

Hey everyone...

I think the last time I posted here I was "learned" a bit on a few things, specifically approach during the tracking phase.

So...now I'm back!

We are in the middle of tracking 11 songs, and this is the first song I decided to start mixing on.

One thing I've always gotten smashed on is my GTR sounds (I'm a drummer)...so I took a completely different approach this time around.

We actually took the time & triple tracked the guitars. We were going to quad them up, but after doing one song, the benefit wasn't really apparent and we're working on some sort of a budget here.

I would love any input, good OR bad, as I want this to sound as good as possible. I think I've come quite a ways since my last mixes, and honestly, I don't think it's HORRIBLE...but after listening to luctellier's mixes in his thread...maybe I should just quit!

Here's the tech info if you like:

Drums - Yam Rec Custom

KIK-RE20
SNR-57
TOMS-421's
OH's - AKG (c1000's I think?..can't remember right now)
Hat - SM-81
Room - 414's
(using SSD samples as well...LOVE the NRG room!)

Bass - Fender Jazz bass w/ active pickups
Ampeg SVT-6 > DI out
Ampeg cab > RE20 and 421
SansAMP > for growl

Rhythm GTRS (triple tracked)

Les Paul > JCM2000 > 1960B cab > 57/421
Epiphone SG > JCM2000 > 1960B Cab > 57/421
Telecaster > Mesa triple Rec > 1960A Cab > 57/421

VOX1 > U87 > LTD-1 > XLogic Comp for control (all I had to work with)

VOX 2 > 414 > 737SP

Mixing was all ITB...PT8 HD with Waves Platinum. I'm hitting the SSD room samples with the SSL comp, other than that there isn't any outboard involved.

I put an L2 on the mix bus at the end just to bring the level up. Sounds like I may have hit it a bit hard (still only about 3-4db though!)...sorry about that.