The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
My first drum session... any thoughts?
Old 3rd August 2005
Lives for gear

My first drum session... any thoughts?

Hey, I just recorded my first session tracking drums all by myself... I'm actually a guitarist/keyboardist, but I've been getting into engineering more and more lately and I had the opportunity to track these drums for my friend's band.

On a side note, the drummer is actually a bass player, but he's not a bad drummer either. This is a really rough mix and all the other instruments are scratch, but I thought I'd get some opinions if possible... since we are going back and doing some more songs on Thursday with the same drums, mics, pres, etc., I thought I'd see if there's anything that you'll hear that I could change. Obviously the levels are really low since it's a rough mix and the room and overheads are pretty strong since I didn't take the time to mix it at all. Any thoughts would be appreciated. Later.

Note: I uploaded a better version down below that's louder and more mixed.
Attached Files

02 - Track 2.mp3 (3.09 MB, 248 views)

Old 3rd August 2005
Gear Maniac

This is really nice. I like the song, and you're very fortunate to be working with such a great band. The drum sound is nice and solid, besides the obvious problem you listed, ie. too much of the oh's. The snare sound is a little distant due to this, but I love the sound overall, and especially love the song. By the way, the bass is absolutely beautiful. Can we get some signal chains on all the stuff???
Old 3rd August 2005
Lives for gear

Sure, no problem... I appreciate the kind words. The band is indeed good and it's right up my alley... this song is a sung vocal number, but some of their other stuff is rapped. Not as cool IMO, but still has a good groove. Here's some signal chain info:

All tracks are going into PT Mix+ through 888's... I really want some Apogee stuff soon.