The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
New Melodic Metal Mix
Old 20th June 2005
Gear Maniac

New Melodic Metal Mix

Hi Guys—
I was wondering if you’d take a listen to my new mix and let me know what you think. Warning, it’s full-on bombastic power metal, so if you dislike things like huge choruses, long songs or reverb on snares then you might want to stay away, haha! heh Seriously though, I’m the vocalist/guitarist for a band called Theocracy and this is just a simple midtempo track called “The Writing in the Sand” from our second album, which we’re recording at the moment. We had to finish and mix this one first because it’s also going on a compilation CD.

Be nice, I’m only a semi-professional musician so my studio setup isn’t too elaborate. I do love the production side of things, as it goes hand-in-hand with the rest of it for me since I started out recording myself on a 4-track and have been recording my own stuff ever since. The songwriting is my main passion, but I’ve really worked my butt off over the last couple years (since our first album) to learn as much as I can and improve my production/mixing skills, and I owe so much to guys like Michael, Andy Sneap, etc. for always helping me out with answers to my annoying questions. However, despite my hard work at trying to improve, I’m still a novice at all this and I’m still learning so much every day. So please don’t expect too much on the production front…I’m getting better, but I still have SO far to go, and I submit this very humbly for you pros to opine on.

I certainly appreciate your listening, and if you like melodic metal I hope you’ll dig it. Anyway, you can check it out here.

Thanks guys and take care!

Matt Smith
www.theocracymusic.com
Old 20th June 2005
Lives for gear

Great Dennis DeYoung vocal vibe! Nice singing..really love the 70's Styx meets Zeno Roth, meets Queensryche power vocals.