The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Did I master this track right?
Old 21st October 2020
Here for the gear

Did I master this track right?

Hi there,

I'm relatively new to mixing/mastering and only have about a year and half of experience actively working with an audio DAW. I recently mixed/mastered a song and wanted to hear your opinion/feedback on it, especially the mastering part of it. By the it's my own composition with me on vocals/guitars as well!

Since I'm still clueless about mastering in general, the steps I took to "master" this track was as follows (I'm sorry if my process sounds very amateur...I'm still learning through trial and error)

1) As I compared the mix with my reference, I found that it's volume loudness was wayyy lower. So I imported the mix in a new pro tools session, and raised the volume fader slightly above 0 (I didn't want to over compress the track or simply add loudness through the compressor make up gain)

2) I added a Pro Tools stock compressor on it with a ratio of 1:6:1, very slow attack and about 60 ms release, maximum gain reduction of about 2.5 db, make up gain of about 2.5 db.

3)Added a stock EQ and tried to match the tone with the reference track as much as possible

Below's the link to the finished master I uploaded on YouTube:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5xvR3h82Mqs

Please do let me know what you think of this master (in terms of loudness, tone, compression, etc) and how I could have made in better. I've also attached the mix mp3 that I was working with, so that you can compare between the mix and the final master!

Thanks in advance!
Attached Files

Maya_Done2.mp3 (5.29 MB, 151 views)

Old 4 weeks ago
Hey there, so I listened to it...and am happy to give my (spare) feedback. From what I hear, it sound great to me.