The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Techno Wars
Old 28th July 2020
Techno Wars

At my last gig, I got in to a little zone where I started playing "cutlural" Techno. That being, Techno--without a doubt--exploded worldwide--and to be honest it freaked freaked me out, man.

Seriously, it was a BEAUTIFUL thing. Couple this with the fact I was blessed to be travelling during this time, and well...I have an appreciation for the different sty;es of Techno I;ve seen up close and in person.

So (IN NO PARTICULAR ORDER) we will start with the UK. The UK was VERY strong in the "EDM" world but seemed to always be a step behind Bavaria and the US when it came to Techno. This is okay, because during this time they were CRACKING with other genres (Garage, Drum-n-Bass, etc) yet still hed their own on the Techni front.

UK Techno is dark without sounding dark. Lots of ghoulish one-shots, F# arps,slower tempo, etc. I personally love the UK Techno, but from what I remember it never took off like I felt it should have.

UP NEXT:

OLD SCHOOL JAPANESE TECHNO.

For now, enjoy the mysterious/haunting sounds of Soho circa 1992
Old 28th July 2020
Okay, PP...

Here we go with some Japanese Techno. I'll tell you, they obviously like it in Japan when someone represents their Techno like this, as on SoundCloud I got a surge of "plays" from various cities in Japan. Pretty cool.

UP NEXT:
That Germany

I hope wherever you are, you enjoy this one. (At least I'm not calling it 'J-Tech') :-)

Old 29th July 2020
Okay, party people so in thinking about this (and talking to some other folks on 'beat making' platforms), I'm "doing the right thing" an proactively ensure my Techno Wars 2020 is not the spark that will ignite WWIII. In other words, it's not a REAL war people. so everyone just settle down. Please.

Look it....I have a bracket. I've seeded eight cultural sub-genres, based on my personal preference.German techno is the top seed, and Japanese techno is the bottom seed.