The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
Help, Mix Rescue Suggestions!!!
Old 6 days ago
Here for the gear

Help, Mix Rescue Suggestions!!!

Hi,

As an aspiring producer I have been trying my hand at just composing instrumental songs and mixing them for a while now. Sometimes everything clicks and the mix sounds like it can be sent to a mastering house. But other times I get stuck in this 2 dimensional mess. The mix translates well to other systems, sums to mono well but then I compare it to a reference and it doesn't have the polish and depth of it. BUT this is not always the case with every mix I do and I am at a loss at why I get stuck in the first place. It doesn't really matter if I start with drums or other instruments. This is my current setup so far (all in the box):
Setup:
1. 2013 imac 2.7 ghz, 32gb ram running Logic Pro X
2. Antelope Orion Studio interface (first edition, not the rev 2017 version!)
3. JBL Lsr 308 monitors
4. Plugins I normally use:
Fab Filter Q2, DS
Soundtoys Bundle: Decapitator, DevilLoc, Little Plate Rev, PanMan, etc
Stock Logic compressors
Sometimes other compressors like the elysia mpressor, alpha, Acme Opticom XLA-3.

This is what I think it could be:

1. Arrangement/Eq: Maybe I still have a ways to go getting this right but I usually sum to mono and mix to properly hear any balance/midrange issues. I don't hear anything that makes my mix sound whack.

2. Not enough compression: I usually end up compressing no more than 3-4db unless absolutely necessary (some very transient synth patches for example). If I try compressing more it doesn't sound good to me anymore.

3. Using saturation instead of limiting. I like the extra harmonic content that saturation provides