The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
recording of guitars & bass - feedback please! Recorders, Players & Tape Machines
Old 4th March 2019
Here for the gear
recording of guitars & bass - feedback please!

I am a bassist and hobbyist recordist (is that a word?) and playing with a couple of great guitar players. We are looking for a drummer but playing in the meantime. I've been experimenting recording the three of us and would love some feedback on the latest round.

I don't want to say too much other than it's recorded live, with no fixing mistakes. There was a tiny bit of editing done in one of the tracks - let me know if you can hear it!

Thank you in advance - if you take the time to listen I really appreciate it! Let me know if you want more information.

(I think I finally got the links sorted out - I had the tracks set to private - you should be able to listen now)

Last edited by hieronymous7; 4th March 2019 at 07:44 AM.. Reason: made tracks public
Old 5th March 2019
Here for the gear
OK, here are a couple of questions that I have - things that I have done to the original recordings.

First, I should state that the original recording was a stereo mp3 - on the Zoom H6 if you record in mp3 it automatically makes a stereo file, but I intended to record in WAV so that I could manipulate each channel separately. So individual instruments aren't adjustable.

Fortunately, I kept an eye on levels while we were playing so they are somewhat balanced. However, I recorded the bass with a Shure Beta 52A and it definitely (re?)produced strong low frequencies - too strong in fact through a system that can handle and reproduce them, so I had to eq some of that out. What you hear is the way I ended up eq'ing it.