The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
help with my mixing/mastering Equalizer Plugins
Old 2 weeks ago
Gear Nut

help with my mixing/mastering

Hey everyone. I have a solo project and I did my first full production on my own. This is also my first serious attempt at mixing and mastering. I'm self taught in everything pretty much so some guidance and help would be appreciated. What could be done better? What did I do well. Thanks for any input.

Divide. by Tyler Ennis 1 | Free Listening on SoundCloud
Old 2 weeks ago
Hi Tyler well done on your track, I enjoyed hearing it.
it's great making music isn't it.
This song reminds me a lot of Simple Minds Glittering Prize, very similar backing track.
I'm not a fan of the stereo placement in your mix, the vocal seems one sided to the right.
The backing vocals also seems to stand out to much at well. I would bring all the vocals in to the middle more and try double tracking the lead vocals, have one quieter hiding under the other with a different EQ or very strong dessert on it. add some saturation and cut down that top a little especially on the backing. To much air makes it feel to close to the listener.
Also LP and HP your effects reverbs 300hz and 5khz and delay, calve out some space as there is a little too much thickness in the low end 200 to 400 Hz area.
Maybe a bit more 1.2k on the bass guitar.
Id bring the snare toward the middle more but that's me.
Then in mastering and a lot more brightness maybe with 5khz and 12khz .
And hint of 80hz low end .
Old 2 weeks ago
Gear Nut

cool thanks for the nice review. It's weird but I remember keeping my vocals in the centre....maybe im wrong or maybe something makes it seem like its leaning? Anyways, I'll keep your notes in mind for the next one.
Old 2 weeks ago