The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
I would need some feedback about my mix! Dynamic Microphones
Old 2 weeks ago
Here for the gear

I would need some feedback about my mix!

Hi guys!

I am a big reader here on Gearslutz but I rarely write posts. I'm not quite sure either if I am posting this one in the good section. Anyway, I decided to write here and hope to get some help & feedback. I have been mixing music for more than 15 years now. My girlfriend Julia Westlin, is an awesome singer & songwriter and I always do the final mixing on her songs. She has a very beautiful voice but her voice has some special tones when she push the voice harder. We often call it "metallic sounding". I often drop some frequencies around 2.5khz and also use a dynamic EQ to drop some of those frequencies that sound too harsh to my ears. Still, sometimes I wonder if there is something I could do for the vocals to have less of those mid frequencies. But I don't want to remove the personnality of her voice either. I am always open for suggestions and I always want to improve my mixing skills. I need feedback from new people who also have experience with mixing vocals. Is there something I could do differently so it becomes even more pleasant to the ears? Thanks a lot for your feedbacks!

Here is the most recent mix:

Thanks a lot in advance and please forgive me if this is posted in the wrong section of the forum.

David

Last edited by psycho_monkey; 1 week ago at 08:56 AM..
Old 2 weeks ago
Lives for gear
I think this is an intriguing artist and production. What microphone are you using on her vocal, and what is the main vocal reverb?
Old 2 weeks ago
Lives for gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by DavidMeShow View Post
I have been mixing music for more than 15 years now.
only a fool would have thought otherwise. its very well done David.