The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Should I Go For The Expensive Mastering Engineer, Or Not?
Old 16th October 2018
Gear Head

Should I Go For The Expensive Mastering Engineer, Or Not?

Hey...

I'm a relatively unknown artist and I record and mix my own music. I have just finished a single that needs to be mastered.

I'm really interested in hiring one of the big guns, Greg Calbi in particular. I think it would cost around $275 for the track. I'm not worried too much about the cost, as I want the best results that I can get. However, I am a bit worried that the top mastering engineers wont really put much time and love into my track as I'm not a well known artist and my mix is probably of lesser quality than the material they're used to working on.

Do you think I would be better of going with a lesser known and cheaper engineer that may put more time and effort into my track? Or is the experience/gear/ears of the top guys worth the extra cash even in my situation?

Would appreciate any advice. Thanks.
Old 17th October 2018
Very rough call there. Gotta go with your gut on that one. Obviously, you can't go wrong with people like Greg - But I can relate to your caution (been in this situation before myself and ended up having a project remastered after spending a small fortune).

That all out of the way -- If you could actually speak with Greg before he works on your project, I'd bet a dollar that he wouldn't take it personally if you were to bring these concerns up. Maybe give that a shot and see how the vibe feels. Then make a decision and go.
Old 17th October 2018
Lives for gear

Hi,

It's a difficult question to answer. I have heard reports that vary from glowing to disappointed. On occasions when I have unwittingly found myself in a shootout with some of the big dogs, it has gone both ways. So there's really only one way to find out for sure...