The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Mastering an old album
Old 6th September 2018
Here for the gear
Question Mastering an old album

Hi! Newbie here.

In '99, I recorded an album on ADAT/DAT that I released as-is without any real mastering per se. I'd like to hire a professional mastering engineer to master it so I can re-release it for its 20th anniversary. I no longer have the ADAT source material but instead just lossless FLAC files of the DAT mixdowns.

Any advice on how to proceed, who to approach, etc.? I live in Southern California. Thanks!

Cheers…CJF
Old 10th September 2018
Lives for gear
Southern California has a few serious (and seriously expensive) fully pro mastering studios. Call a few. If they can’t help you, they might be able to point you to the LA specialty studios that might do that work.
Old 10th September 2018
Here for the gear
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bushman View Post
Southern California has a few serious (and seriously expensive) fully pro mastering studios. Call a few. If they can’t help you, they might be able to point you to the LA specialty studios that might do that work.
That sounds like a good place to start. Would you happen to know the names of some of these pro mastering studios in Southern California?
Old 11th September 2018
Lives for gear
Quote:
Originally Posted by cfryling View Post
That sounds like a good place to start. Would you happen to know the names of some of these pro mastering studios in Southern California?
Yes.
Old 11th September 2018
Here for the gear
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bushman View Post
Yes.
Please?
Old 11th September 2018
Lives for gear
Get on your personal device or computer and enter “mastering studio Los Angeles”. Get a list of studios. Either call or go to local ones. But don’t pick one right away.