The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
5.1 Noob with TVC mixing questions
Old 16th April 2020
5.1 Noob with TVC mixing questions

Hello Post Party People

Noob alert - with A LOT OF QUESTIONS sorry, and thank you

I am a relatively experienced music engineer / mixer. I’ve been doing commercial sound design for a couple of years, but rarely mixing for TV. Im pretty deep on a campaign that was social only but with cover the brand wants to use the content for TV too. And I don’t want to disappoint and Id like to come in as a hero (or at least not be noticed) and ride the stop change with ease.

And the scope change is from stereo to 5.1
I am a complete noob but a competent google and have been doing a lot of reading and testing in my studio. All is going fairly well but I have a few questions for the masters out there. I really appreciate this community (although its a rather expensive one to be a part of

First I have to say - yes I now know the LFE is not a place for all my low freq information. Its a boom box, a special effects zone. That said here are my questions, sorry if they offend

—————————————————————————

LFE

- Can I use a full frequency monitor like a JBL*LSR6328P as a quick and dirty LFE, doing a 80-120 hz low pass in PT?

- I have some 5.1 mixes I can using for reference (where I’ve contributed sound design and music but did not mix) these are all TVCs for big brands. In not a one of them is there anything in the LFE. Not when a door slams or a cannon ball crushes a castle. Is this normal? Just forgoing the LFE in TV commercials?

—————————

Ambiances
- I often use Rx7 to match ambience and fill short dead spaces in VO.
is it an acceptable practice to synthetically generate long amounts of ambience this way to put in the LsRs ?

——————————

Reverb Send