The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Video Editing and software.
Old 1st June 2018
Lives for gear

Video Editing and software.

My background is in music/recording. I've lived in studios (literally at times) for many years of life, but I know nothing about video except that people use Premiere, Media Composer and Final Cut Pro. Where should I begin on a path to learning video recording/editing/syncing to audio etc....
Old 1st June 2018
Lives for gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by IM WHO YOU THINK View Post
Where should I begin on a path to learning video recording/editing/syncing to audio etc....
most DAWs these days can sync video and audio. After effects is good for editing. Also Vegas is good to make quick YT vids. Download their demo and mess around. It takes only a couple hours to get some good results.
It really depends on what you will be doing to tell you which is the best software. there are so many good editing tools.
Old 2nd June 2018
Lives for gear

I have used Movie Studio (Vegas Lite) and Sound Forge to make a couple of not horrible videos. Considering I'd never done it, the learning curve was pretty short. I had more trouble with the GoPro footage, trying to negate the fisheye.
Old 4th June 2018
Lives for gear

Quote:
I know nothing about video except that people use Premiere, Media Composer and Final Cut Pro. Where should I begin on a path to learning video recording/editing/syncing to audio etc....
Typically it's the opposite; you sync audio to video.

In my post production world the workflow is that the video editors (or their assistants) ingest all content and make sure it's in sync. They then cut video. Then once that's done they export either an OMF or more frequently these days an AAF, and I import those into Pro Tools or Nuendo.