The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
University asking for donations? Effects Pedals, Units & Accessories
Old 16th December 2010
Lives for gear

University asking for donations?

Seriously now, I am just finishing my time at a 4 year private university (with tuition of 40K a year) and thy send me something in the mail asking me to donate to a "chancellor fund." They basically want to build something pretty and unnecessary on campus

They could at least wait 3-5 years till they could at least assume I have some sort of income before they have the gall to ask me for even MORE money that I'm already giving them. sheesh

probably not such a big deal..but hey, this is the moan zone. its nice to let loose every now and then
Old 16th December 2010
Lives for gear

Get used to that....

I graduated from a private college too, and got donation requests right away. Now they're just disguised as "young alumni event" invitations.

I work for a private high school and have received a pay stub and donation envelope in the same week. That's weird.

Howie J
Old 17th December 2010
Gear Nut

University asking for donations?

I got kicked out of a grammar school when I was 15 and got a letter 10 years later begging me to come back. I mean they were wanting a donation and said "You are always welcome back!"
Old 17th December 2010
Gear Addict

Quote:
Originally Posted by SynthLine09 View Post
Seriously now, I am just finishing my time at a 4 year private university (with tuition of 40K a year) and thy send me something in the mail asking me to donate to a "chancellor fund." They basically want to build something pretty and unnecessary on campus

They could at least wait 3-5 years till they could at least assume I have some sort of income before they have the gall to ask me for even MORE money that I'm already giving them. sheesh