The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
student in college..need direction!! Keyboard Synthesizers
Old 3rd September 2011
Here for the gear

student in college..need direction!!

Hey Guys,
So this site has been huge in helping me with audio solutions over the years, but now I'm looking for what is probably the most important solution to my questions. I'm a student at a university getting my B.S. in recording technology. With all the red flags being thrown up about so few paying jobs in this industry, I've begun considering instead taking up a Business degree instead and continuing to teach myself audio engineering through internships, instructional videos, etc. on the side.

I would SERIOUSLY appreciate some genuine feedback on this topic as I'm at a complete crossroads right now.

Also are there any growing industries, such as film, or video gaming, where audio engineering may be more promising as a career?
Old 3rd September 2011
Lives for gear

I got a college degree on audio engineering but the diploma itself didnt get me where i am today.

If i were in your position I'd get a degree in electronics. You can still work directly in audio and you have other paths to follow is that doesn't work. And the electronics know-how will help you a lot if you build a career in audio engineering.

Just my 2 eurocents

Good luck!
Old 3rd September 2011
Film and television are going to continue to grow I think.
I've worked with some very talented and skilled sound designers and final mixers.
In the end, your ability will open doors, so get as much out of your course as possible. I think qualifications are important for teaching and jobs in major corporations, like larger or government controlled TV and radio.
So i would continue with your course, but the emphasis should be on skilling yourself, not on getting the paperwork at the end.