The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
I'm a Pro Tools guy, but I can finally say...
Old 22nd December 2010
Lives for gear

I'm a Pro Tools guy, but I can finally say...

..PTLE was the biggest streaming pile of Sh%t ever created!!

Thank God Avid has changed it's game. I've owned an HD system for several years which is great, and I've basically avoided LE in favor of DP or Logic when working on my laptop. But recently I've been using version PT-8LE a bit in anticipation of getting PT9. Holy crap, I forgot how badly it pales compared to Logic, etc. I mean, unless you like crashes, low track count, etc.

Here's to PT9
Old 22nd December 2010
Gear Nut

I don't think the crashes or low track count will be any less with 9 than they were with 8 for you. At least that's been my experience. Logic is still way more efficient.
It's a bummer cause I prefer working in PT, but my computer can't really handle it for certain things.
But at least we get ADC, TC, etc.
Old 22nd December 2010
Deleted #157546
Hd user here. But, having said that, I use PT LE8 for onsite stuff and quick overdubs on location. Where as there is a lot of "other" stuff out there, I wouldn't call LE garbage.

But I'm with you on the many improvements in 9. Avid has really stepped up the game with 9 compared to LE in general.
Old 22nd December 2010
Lives for gear

LE has it's pitfalls but it's a good app. Not perfect, and not good for some purposes, but far from garbage.

I have PT9 on only two machines but both are much more stable now than they ever were running PT8.
Old 22nd December 2010
Lives for gear

I absolutely LOVE PT 9
Kudos to Avid
Old 23rd December 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by DavidKmusic View Post
..PTLE was the biggest streaming pile of Sh%t ever created!!