The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Self-loathing Effects Pedals, Units & Accessories
Old 21st December 2010
Gear Addict

Self-loathing

I've been having a terrible time this week...Been really down on myself. I'm 27 years old, have been playing music since I was 12 or so. I've been writing and playing music for the last 8 or 9 years. I started a small project studio this summer and have had a little bit of business; enough to keep me busy outside of my 9-5 day job.

This weekend I met a guy who lives in Seattle where he bounces between Seattle and Nashville producing, and actively tours when he's not producing. Basically; exactly what I want to be doing.

I compared some of my stuff (both original and work I've done for other bands) to this guy's...And I sound like an absolute amateur in comparison. On the one hand, I'm comforted knowing that he's a successful producer and has been at it full time for about 7 years now. On the other hand; I'm depressed because that's what I want to sound like and am nowhere close.

I love what I do, both writing, playing, recording, and producing...And I really want to make a career out of all of it; that's what I've always wanted to do. But I kinda feel like I'm 27 and not there yet; and if it hasn't happened now, it most likely won't.

Anyone else struggle with these feelings? For what it's worth, every band or musician I've ever worked with loved the quality of their music when I was done, and I'm not terrible at it by any means...But I'm just nowhere near as good as I want to be and I fear I never will be.
Old 21st December 2010
Lives for gear

Got contact details for him? Get in touch and tell him you wanna do what he does and get him to point you in the right direction. Don't beat yourself up about it, there's no point. Just ask. If he tells you to feck off, at least you tried
Old 22nd December 2010