The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Just because you can sing in tune DOES NOT make you a good singer Effects Pedals, Units & Accessories
Old 22nd March 2010
Just because you can sing in tune DOES NOT make you a good singer

It's another day in my car fetching some thing at the store and I pop on my radio and I'm grimly reminded of the recent Auto Tuned nightmarish over repetative kiddy hits of today.... And I think to my self.... Wow, I know im 40 , but not out of touch... I mean, I AM a producer, full time and understand GIMMICKS sell... but, While there are a "few" good singers on the radio today ( and that's pretty sad that I even have to say that), When are people going to wake up and see just because you can sing a note pretty well or stay in tune doesnt make you a GREAT singer. Yeah I know, It's MY opionion, but really? is it?..Im Hearing Rhianna, Swift, Averil, etc... and wondered what theyre records would sound like without Melodyne or Auto Tune... Did anyone notice when T Swift sang nect to Stevie Nicks at the grammys, Stevie although rough, was S000 in tune naturally?... and Swift was embarassing... period?... I miss Annie Lennox, Tina Turner, Peter Gabriel?.. even 90's Rock was killer...at least they could sing?..
Old 22nd March 2010
But are you a pop producer or no? If you don't produce pop music, listening to the radio will make you seem out of touch heh
Old 22nd March 2010
Lives for gear
Your first mistake was listening to commercial radio in 2010.
Old 22nd March 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by PoorGlory View Post
Your first mistake was listening to commercial radio in 2010.
Agreed!
Old 22nd March 2010
Gear Guru

Quote:

This is very true! I was at a Karaoke bar last night. There are often people that can sing quite well, perfectly in tune, but just have bad sounding voices.
Old 23rd March 2010
Gear Nut

Quote: