The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Producer nightmare...
Old 19th November 2009
Producer nightmare...

I have been working with this "producer" for the last 2 months on his album, recording, editing and this week mixing...Man, its the worst engineering nightmare of my career..He is one of those guys who thinks who knows everything and who wants to be deciding every single thing regarding mix decisions..He wants to sit in all the time and direct me on every single mixing step.

First he made me clean out EVERY single breath in the album, whether the song warrants it or not...Because he thinks radio won't play it and today's production is like that...I showed him many hit tracks with breath's left in, but he is soooooooooooooooooooooooooo pigheaded...

If "I" suggest ANYTHING, he would refuse it immediately, doesn't matter what it is...

Examples:

Me: Hey, this breakdown could really use a bit more drier vocals so that the vox are more intimate, it also goes very well with the lyrics/

Him: No, no, no, nooooo!!...It sounds "dynamic" with reverb and delay (??dynamic? he would throw in these terms iin without hesitation by the way..whether or not it means anything!)

Me (during tracking): So now that you want the vocals to be "poppy" maybe we should double track it..

Him: No no no no no no...I want them natural and on its own..we are not a pop band..

During mixing: Him: Listen to this track..I want this kind of vocals (double tracked, quite poppy, bright, mids scooped etc..)

Me: Speechless...

Also, he wants to control the balance of the track as well..He wants to have a say in every single mixing decision, but usually he is wrong. I make a balance, he comes in he says turn this up, turn that up, turn bass up, drums up..so everything is louder one by one, then I turn down the master fader and turn up the main volume and we are at the same place after 1 hour spent...But you can't say anything to him, he gets upset in 2 seconds if I don't agree with him....