The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
Frustration and Self Doubt or how does an older guy get into the biz?
Old 15th July 2005
Gear Nut

Frustration and Self Doubt or how does an older guy get into the biz?

Hopefully I won't ramble on too much here, but I want to see if there is anybody else that has experienced frustration and self doubt as I am now and what you did to get over it.

I feel a bit of history is in order...
I'm a former "pro" musician that took an extended break from playing to get my life back in order.
I was an accomplished bassist that started playing out and actually making decent coin when I was 15, got a full ride scholarship for Jazz studies because of my bass playing and went on to play in fairly successful acts generating label interest and what not.
During my time playing I took up recording because I'm technically minded, I really enjoyed it, was pretty good at it and it just fit with what I was doing at the time. I did some great recordings during that time with limited equipment as well as decently stocked project studios at the time. For the most part it was all analog, but I did work a bit with ADATs at the time.

So here I am now, considerably older and wanting to get back into playing and recording. I've come to the realization that my playing chops just are not what they used to be and probably won't ever get back to the level I was at in my 20's. So I've been focusing on getting my recording chops back together and trying to get my foot in the door somewhere...anywhere.

I have a decent home studio, DAW based, and I've done recordings of myself, my band and some friends.
Everyone thinks the recordings sound pretty good. Personally, I don't think they measure up to what I used to be able to accomplish with 4 mics and a 2-track but they are passable.