The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
Ungrateful [email protected]$tz
Old 12th July 2005
Gear Maniac

Ungrateful [email protected]$tz

Hi all,

Im recodin a bands demo, as a favour, no money involved (im not a pro,this is just a hobby for me)just 3 songs,ska band-8 piece!
We tracked the drums in one day & have taken an eternity to do everything else over the last month durin the evenings here & there, cos members of the band arnt making themselves available when they should be
I didnt mind giving up my time as its somthing i liked doing, im still not free everyday of the week though!! But theyre startin to moan,ON THE INTERNET,to other people (ive seen a 'Blog') saying that 'the recording is proving to be a bit of a pain'(i was convinced i was doing them a favour) & now,the drumboy rings me yesterday (u can tell this is where i lost it) saying that they want their songs MIXED by this friday (never mind the fact that some Gtr's & a loada vocals still havnt been finished!?!?!)

I feel now,that because of their attitude, dfegad i should have nothing to do with them,but maybe doing that might justify the comment they made on the internet

How would you deal with this??
Old 12th July 2005
Lives for gear

No good deed goes unpunished.

People tend to interpret value based on costs. Since your service is free, it has no (apparent) value.

I would explain that you are donating your time and equipment but only at your convenience. If this is unacceptable to them, then they can pay for and thus 'buy' your time and priority.

Additionally, I would come up with a nice figure in the area of $50-150 per hour for this option. I would imagine this will speed things along, nicely.

Good Luck.
Old 12th July 2005
I had my feelings hurt once when I saw a note the artist I was working with left for some friends mid project - but the record turned out great..