The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
The music game isn't gonna be respected until everyone has the same chance.
Old 7th August 2019
Gear Head

The music game isn't gonna be respected until everyone has the same chance.

To get a top 40 sound you need gear. period.

To compete with the top 40. You NEED expensive gear & an expensive acoustic environment. Show me a top 40 song made on a scarlet solo and a rode nt1 or anything that wasn't made on a $10,000-$100,000+ setup in this last decade or hell since the year 2000.

The goal should be whether you are a beginner or a pro is to make money from music. Not get a pat on the back from friends and your mother and turn a few heads because it sounds decent or better than what an absolute beginner would produce. If you are going to spend money make sure it can bring you closer to a top 40 sound because those are the ONLY people making money. PERIOD.
Competing with the top 40 should be the goal from the start of your career to the finish!

The people who are successful in the music industry consist of four types of people.

-Privileged rich kids (major labels) disguising they are not
-Friends of privileged rich kids (major labels) who may get signed disguising they are not
-Drug dealers
-Friends of drug dealers.

Those are the only people that can afford the gear not even to mention the marketing etc....

Then every now and then one of regular normal people like us slips in and gets in one of there circles.

This game is bs if you ask me. You telling me the only way I can get a top 40 sound, compete, and make money off my music is to get lucky and network my way into a rich circle or start selling drugs or go into debt for audio equipment (that will only be one of the many expensive gear pieces I need anyways)?!

99% of people in this country especially at the age of 18-27 cannot afford the gear that is necessary to compete with the people in the top 40.