The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Is there really a big difference between synths?
Old 29th January 2019
Gear Maniac

Is there really a big difference between synths?

Granted I’m relatively new to synths and new to this forum, but I’ve had the chance to play several hardware synths in person from Moog, Roland, DSI, Access, Korg, Arturia, Yamaha, Behringer, etc and several software synths as well and then of course I’ve listened to many well recorded YouTube videos of all kinds of synths both recent and from decades past, and many albums over the years. And I feel it’s almost a case of emperor’s new clothes where I honestly can’t hear a difference. Is it about listening to the raw oscillators or is it that some synths aren’t capable of modulating some parameters that others can? I have been listening to synths since Pink Floyd and was a teenager in the 80s listening to all of that synth based music.
Old 29th January 2019
Lives for gear

Nah.
Old 29th January 2019
Lives for gear
If you tried all these synths like you said you did then you should at least understand the basic fact, that different synths have different specs. If you played on a Minimoog and then a P6 for instance then you'd obviously notice that they don't have the same amounts of oscillators, polyphony and oscillators don't even have the same shape.

If a ear can tell between 2 different voices, or 2 different notes, why would anybody assume the ear can't tell between 2 synthesizers?

I do not believe anybody who played on synths from that many different brands would ask this kind of question to begin with. The answer is obvious.
Old 29th January 2019
Lives for gear

Yes.

All synths sound the same... with the volume knob turned right down.

Turning it up results in all sorts of 'arguments', 'ideas' and 'opinions'

Take my advise .... run while you can!
Old 29th January 2019
Lives for gear