The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
I wish I was a video editor
Old 2 weeks ago
Gear Nut

I wish I was a video editor

...so I could be making triple what an audio engineer makes, all while never really having to buy any gear other than literally any decent computer that runs premiere.

I can get mad and scream at audio engineers when I send them mp3's to mix into my film and they ask for full-res .wav's. "MP3's are what everyone listens to, dumbass!"

I can get really really nasty and snarl "Not everyone went to film school" through gritted teeth when an audio engineer tells me that the music for the film needs to be in stereo, not mono, and I don't understand those terms. Because of course, the only way to understand the difference between mono and stereo is to go to film school! I'm a video editor. I just grab whatever file and throw it on my timeline without even checking, well, anything at all.

I could tell an audio engineer with a completely straight face "Dude, $300 is a bit much to dialog edit, sound fx edit, foley, background edit, and re-recording mix my 38-minute short film" as I sit in my tesla eating avocado toast.

"And I'll need the whole season of episodes mixed by the end of the week even though when we started I told you you'd have literally 10 times as much time."

I wish i became a video editor.
Old 2 weeks ago
Lives for gear

Not all video editors are making a lot of $$$ and they are under a lot of time pressure "to get the job done" and of course "to stay within budget" .

Maybe in Hollywood they are as you describe but in the heartland it is a different scenario all together. FWIW
Old 2 weeks ago
Gear Guru

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chill___Bro View Post
I can get really really nasty and snarl "Not everyone went to film school" through gritted teeth...
They're like that because they're miserable.
Old 2 weeks ago