The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
I still don't know what a 'Beat" is?... Keyboard Workstations
Old 14th April 2018
Lives for gear

I still don't know what a 'Beat" is?...

I mean, I've been studying music since 1995.

I make and compose music and create and record songs.

I always assumed that a beat was maybe a drum beat? or maybe a passage or a short arrangement of a drum beat or type of short rhythm section with maybe a melody or sequence added?

Then I read somebody posting their works as, for example: "Beats by Nate".

I don't know about them, but I make songs. I would never refer to one of my songs or compositions as "Beats by Ben".

Maybe that's just me, but where is the fine line between the two? Or maybe I'm just missing something and haven't learned the proper definition of Beat.

I'm completely serious by the way.
Old 14th April 2018
Lives for gear

A song has a beat, a beat is not necessarily a song.
Old 14th April 2018
Before I joined GS, I used to think that beats only applied to Hip Hop music. Later I learned that it applies to multiple genres of music.

You can listen to beats here at this website:

Buy Beats Online | Download Beats | Rap Beats For Sale | Instrumentals For Sale

Here's a definition as well:

In popular use, beat can refer to a variety of related concepts including: tempo, meter, specific rhythms, and groove. Rhythm in music is characterized by a repeating sequence of stressed and unstressed beats (often called "strong" and "weak") and divided into bars organized by time signature and tempo indications.
Old 14th April 2018
Gear Guru

"Beat" has evolved to mean, in one use of the word, a mix minus vocals. Backing track, TV track, beat... all the same thing.