The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Recording has ruined my love for the guitar
Old 21st January 2007
Lives for gear
Recording has ruined my love for the guitar

Now that I'm deep into it, have actual clients, and blow all my money (what little of it there is) on new gear, I've realized I haven't played guitar in about a month. Guitar used to be what defined me... I studied classical guitar in college, I spent hours and hours every day trying to perfect Clapton solos (still can't nail Crossroads and make it sound right!), and I think about guitar non-stop all day.

Now my guitars sit in the closet. I have no less than three pieces of studio gear open on my desk with schematics and soldering irons everywhere, I get emails from guitarists a month after I'm done with the recording complaining about little volume changes, you can't walk into my fake studio without tripping on an iso transformer or a bad insert snake, and my console is constantly in a state of disrepair as I attempt in vain to track down minor humming issues that drive me mad.

Now its this that consumes me. This is what defines me. What the hell happened?

My real profession is live sound. I work freelance for a number of companies and make a good living. Studio stuff is my hobby, and I guess my passion now. I haven't written a song or really tried to nail "Moto Perpetuo" in a long time, and the problem is: I'm not sure I really miss it. I feel like I should, but I kind of don't.

This kinda crap happen to anyone else?
Old 21st January 2007
Lives for gear

Might just be a phase, not unusual......you ll pick up the gtr again.......or maybe not......doesnt really matter as long as it feels good.....people change

www.nickoosterhuis.com
Old 21st January 2007
Lives for gear

Sometimes I feel exactly the same, especially after my band quitted... which meant even less playing...

You're not the only one!
Old 21st January 2007
500 series nutjob

i have my ups and downs.