The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Advise on Audio Education
Old 15th January 2007
Here for the gear

Question Advise on Audio Education

Hey..Im an electronics and communication engineer (and an audio enthusiast) based in Chennai, India. I also did a diploma program in audio engineering from SAE, Chennai.Since graduating, ive been working at various music production facilities across Chennai.I am very keen on continuing my studies in audio technology and was initially planning on doing the B.A in Recording Arts program at SAE, Byron Bay, Australia. But, I've since, changed my mind on doing that program considering how notorious SAE is in the industry.I now plan on doing a university program and have shortlisted a few universities in the U.S (Listed Below).

I would really appreciate it if you guys could share your thoughts about these Universities/Programs and let me know which you think i should be applying for.. Is there anyone here whos done any of these programs? Do you know anyone whos done any of these programs? Are there any other Universities/Programs that i might have missed out? I have also included a few Masters programs.However my doubts about doing a Masters are with regard to these two points..

1. Does the audio industry really require students with a Master's
Degree? Since, Master's degree programs in the area are a relatively
new option, Wouldn't they be looking for some type of education in
general, but not specifically a Master's Degree?

2.Wouldn't most of the industry prefer a bachelor's degree with a
variety of coursework and then an internship or other type of previous
work experience? In that case, Wouldn't a bachelor's program be better
in terms of a broader education and scope?

The Universities/Programs ive shortlisted:
------------------------------------------

1.University of Massachusetts Lowell - Bachelors in Sound Recording Technology (SRT) /Master of Music in Sound Recording Technology.