The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
A Gearslutz Moment
Old 16th February 2020
Here for the gear

A Gearslutz Moment

Hey Guys,

I'm a newbie on these forums, and I hope I haven't posted in the wrong place, but I just experienced a total Gearslutz monent.

After carefully restoring a Yamaha PSS 480, a Biamp MR/140 reverb, and an Effectron II ADM 1024, and using a donated Behringer Eurorack MX 602A, I got an otherwise cheesy chord rhythm going with reverb and slap back echo that made it ring and sing.

Then I rocked out on top of it with my Strat running through a DOD compressor, a Boss DST2 distortion, an MXR reverb, all looped through a Boss DD-7. All through a cheap Fender Champ and a Park bass amp.

Bouncing between the guitar and the synth, I kept changing things up and making new sound patterns, all of which just totally got me going. I called a friend and had him listen in on my cell phone, and now he wants me to record it *properly*.

In many ways, this is all thanks to you guys. As I have been restoring the Yamaha and the rack units, I found invaluable advice on this and other sites about how to service this stuff, where to get manuals online, what membrane buttons are and how to fix them, and links to demos of what this equipment can do. All of which made me decide to keep going servicing what many thought was just "junk".

A lot of this equipment has been sitting here in my house gathering dust and doing nothing for the last 3 decades (excpet the Strat, she's my baby.) But I kept it all knowing one day I would make this happen, and it just did, my mind is blown.

Thanks to all of you guys, I love you.

Signed,
My Neighbors Are Scared.

P.S. There's a Korg Poly 800 on the bench waiting for a new CR2032 battery and a Hawk 800 kit.
Old 16th February 2020
Hi mrex! Welcome to Gearslutz

Many more moments to come : D

I used to have a Poly 800 MK2; epic synth especially loud. Helicopters, jets and Van Halen.
Best, Arthur
Old 21st February 2020
Here for the gear

Dude,