The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Easy Piano Keyboard
Old 4th September 2016
Here for the gear

Easy Piano Keyboard

Hi, guys
My first post ever in your lovely forum. Yes, I am a design engineer and I have designed a better piano keyboard. It is called simply the Plain Piano Keyboard. Actually it is a Janko derivative but that is a subject for the advanced auditory.

Here are the demonstration videos on my YouTube channel. Any criticism, advices, recommendations are more than welcome. Thank you!

Plain Piano Keyboard - YouTube channel

And here is the first demonstration video:

Old 4th September 2016
Gear Nut

Quote:
Originally Posted by adXok View Post
Hi, guys
My first post ever in your lovely forum. Yes, I am a design engineer and I have designed a better piano keyboard. It is called simply the Plain Piano Keyboard. Actually it is a Janko derivative but that is a subject for the advanced auditory.

Here are the demonstration videos on my YouTube channel. Any criticism, advices, recommendations are more than welcome. Thank you!

Plain Piano Keyboard - YouTube channel

And here is the first demonstration video:

Welcome to the fractious jungle that is gearslutz and put on your armor!

Well-conceived design, Ian!

Only a few centuries overdue; about time the design was freed from older technological/manufacturing limitations!

I notice that the prototype has some interaction along the "y" axis, or from front-most keys to the back-most, where pressing the "lower" keys causes some displacement of the "upper" keys, no doubt simply a limitation of the state-of-the-art of the prototype mechanism.

Or, perhaps by design, to conform more ergonomically to the hand as the hand sinks into the plane of the key bed?

My only concern would be the compressing of the range of the velocity curve due to the lowered key action of the affected domes.