The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
Control room and live room in the same room
Old 16th October 2013
Here for the gear

Control room and live room in the same room

I've been thinking about trying to start my own studio. My initial though was that the easiest (and cheapest) space would be a practice space for bands. They are relatively easy to come by here (Gothenburg, Sweden) and can be found for ok prices. Of course I need one that isn't shared by any other bands so I can leave all my gear there and not worry about other people using it.

I want to keep this very budget to start out with, seeing as I'm relatively new to this but want to get started as it seems like the best way to learn. My question is can I get away with having one room, so the control room and live room are the same room? Since all practice spaces are only one room this would be ideal since the cost of building a wall will most likely be quite high and would make both spaces much smaller (they probably won't be huge to start with).

Obviously I won't be able to listen through my monitors while recording, I'd have to listen through headphones. But will I really even be able to hear anything from the headphones when I'm sitting in the same room as the drummer or guitarist? Or would I just have to record and then listen to how it sounds? Which would probably make recording more time consuming and much harder.

Thoughts? Is this just a bad idea or is it possible?
Old 16th October 2013
Gear Guru

You would need to listen back to make sure of things, but needless to say there are TONs of one room set ups. I highly recommend it for not only cost but having one larger room vs 2 small ones that will sound horrible.
You can use the following videos and articles to help with treating the room.
Educational Videos - Acoustic Panels | Bass Traps | Diffusors | GIK Acoustics