The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Control Room for creative input Dynamics Plugins
Old 9th September 2011
Gear Addict

Control Room for creative input

Hello GS Friends - I am building a personal studio in my basement and thought I would throw the basic design and layout up for for group comment.

There are some interesting challenges and I'm hoping to get some experienced and knowledgeable perspective from anyone willing to chime in.

Some important details:

What is this space for? I am a composer and producer with a personal studio where I will occasionally track overdubs and small groups, but I do not charge by the hour and do not need a commercial grade recording space that is sound proofed. My main concern is getting an accurate mix environment and having a room I can track in to get nice recordings, even if I need to plan the time carefully to minimize risk of noise creeping in.

What are the details? I will attach a detailed diagram below with all dimensions, etc. . .

What is the budget? Low. But I have access to any and all tools you could imagine and am willing to buy materials. So I will not be buying pre-fabricated treatments, but I plan on building some myself.

What do you already have? I have an Auralex Roominator kit that includes tons of absorptive foam, some T-fusers and 8 bass traps.

What are the stipulations? Consider the placement of the desk and its orientation set in stone.

What are the specific questions for the community?
a) the ceiling . Notice the ceiling configuration. This is a basement, and the ceiling is just the subfloor of the upstairs. The beams in the picture are the joists. the width of each joist seems cut off in the picture, and is 2.5 inches.