The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Perfect recording room dimension and reverberation time
Old 31st December 2010
Lives for gear

Perfect recording room dimension and reverberation time

I am currently studying music production/recording facility construction engineering, a little bit of acoustics etc. In my upcoming recording studio I would of course want to end up with perfect recording room conditions. What is the optimal width x height x depth + reverberation time to aim for?

Naturally I like the sound of churches where the recommended reverberation times are around 1.4 - 3.4, these buildings are often quite large...
Old 31st December 2010
Lives for gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by RainbowStorm View Post
I am currently studying music production/recording facility construction engineering, a little bit of acoustics etc. In my upcoming recording studio I would of course want to end up with perfect recording room conditions. What is the optimal width x height x depth + reverberation time to aim for?

Naturally I like the sound of churches where the recommended reverberation times are around 1.4 - 3.4, these buildings are often quite large...
Seeing as you're planning to get into the business seriously, I suggest you read at least a few hundred threads here. You'll learn an awful lot and you'll soon realize that there is no such thing as perfect room conditions.

Churches are awful when they're not full of people, and even then...
Old 31st December 2010
Lives for gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by PaulP View Post
Seeing as you're planning to get into the business seriously, I suggest you read at least a few hundred threads here. You'll learn an awful lot and you'll soon realize that there is no such thing as perfect room conditions.

Churches are awful when they're not full of people, and even then...