The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Attic build/treatment Sound Enhancers & Exciters (HW)
Old 23rd December 2010
Gear Addict

Attic build/treatment

I'm just getting started with my own attic build for a common mixing/tracking room. My roof is a little below a 45 degree pitch and meets at the peak. I'll be building an inner structure for isolation from the outer, and will be leaving a gap between that ceiling and the peak just so I can periodically check for moisture, pests, etc.

Still, there isn't enough height to build a flat ceiling all the way across, and I know that the angles will focus the sound somewhat.

So I'm trying get myself pointed in the right direction here. Nothing on this pic is exact, it's all proof of concept, but I'm wondering if a poly run down the center of the room in the focal point of the ceiling would help, particularly with broadband clouds to either side? I know that no matter what I should expect some focusing in the middle of the room, but will this help disperse at all or should I be looking in a totally different direction?
Attached Thumbnails
Attic build/treatment-concept.jpg  
Old 23rd December 2010
Gear Guru

Lightbulb

Quote:
Originally Posted by 99zulu View Post
I'm wondering if a poly run down the center of the room in the focal point of the ceiling would help
I'd use thick (and wide) absorption there instead.

--Ethan

Gear Addict

That can be done.

And I'm all for turning the entire ceiling area, slopes and all, into an absorbing surface if that's what it takes. I just don't want to completely deaden the room if that can be avoided, so I'm wondering if some diffusers would help keep it a little lively in there, and on which surface they could be used to help do so while avoiding the focusing effect of the slopes?
Old 23rd December 2010
Lives for gear

Hey Zulu.