The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Where do i start with my completely untreated room? Bass Traps
Old 20th December 2010
Gear Head

Where do i start with my completely untreated room?

OK i've had a look at other peoples untreated rooms, and i must say my room looks much worser lol :(.

Treatment is needed solely for recording vocals.

I have been recording vocals for some time now and i just can't seem to get the right sound, i'm convinced it's my poor room acoustics.

I have no knowledge on room treatment .

I have attached images of my room with dimensions.

I just need some expert advice on what i should do to my room to make it sound better. I'm on a fairly low budget £300/400 max. By the way i use a SE reflexion filter booth and record towards the window. Thanks
Old 20th December 2010
Gear Guru
Principles

The biggest source of damage to the pure sound of the voice entering the mic is nearby reflections. Kill them all.....
Move away from the walls when recording. The centre of the room probably but definitely not near anything.
You need something overhead. A four inch panel with a four inch airgap above it would be great. A group of similar panels on stands all around you will complete the job. We sometimes see a semi circle behind the mic and it causes me to wonder. That is in the reject side of a cardioid mic. I have seen panels behind, but again the head must block sound coming from that direction. Experiment with these notions, it is easy to hear the room sound.
Reflection filters are too small to do a big job.
GIK and RealTraps have bigger efforts but full size panels on stands would be even better. Great for other recordings and mixing also.
Panels can be attached to mic stands or manufacturer's stands. I note SOS frequently recommend a duvet draped over a horizontal mic stand boom.