The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
What do you think of my Control Room Design Dynamics Plugins
Old 18th December 2010
Gear Nut

What do you think of my Control Room Design

Hi I am in the process of designing my control room, a room with in a room hopefully all decoupled.
I have some knowledge of acoustics and general idea of studio design from past experience and lots of research, I am not an expert all though I have spoken to a few experts in the past I don’t feel phased by what they say. Just to give you an idea of where I am at.

Armed with all the above I am in the process of designing my room .
I thought I would post my design so far to get some feed back
I have come up with the design so far based on the available space and best ratios for a control room, I want a control room and a live room to use for recoding bands and mixing to a professional standard.
I am at the stage of deciding weather I want straight walls or should angle them so as not to have equal and opposite, should I slope the ceiling.

I was looking at room modes I came a cross a very interesting webpage (http://www.bobgolds.com/Mode/RoomModes.htm) where you enter your dimensions and it displays all the modes and so on, I adjusted my walls to meet one of the ideal ratios.
A few questions I have should I be using the new dimensions for the control room or the existing ones to decide what’s going on in terms of room modes, I have read on the net to use for example the floor above height and not the ceiling height and the existing walls and not the new room dimensions, I don’t thing that makes any sense in my case .
The diagram shows the room and the new design