The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Done treatment - Room EQ Wizard Results
Old 7th October 2010
Done treatment - Room EQ Wizard Results

OK so this has been a long time coming. I've been building the traps for about 2 months. Everything is done and hung - 40+ trips to home depot, lowes, joann's and a ****ed up thumb from pulling all the fabric. Upon the general consensus I covered every corner I could with bass traps - wall and ceiling. I did early reflection and a few other spots. Firstly, it's dead in here and I'm not too happy but I will deal with that later because I have no facing on any of my traps and maybe if I add some it will help. My room is only 10' x 15' and the ceiling is only 7'. The back wall has 2 doors that I really could not cover but I covered everything around them.. So again I realize the room is not optimal. That being said here's are some specifics of what I did:

4 Corners - 6' tall, 6" deep bass traps

Ceiling/ Wall corners - 7, 4" bass traps hanging. They are everywhere I could put them with the exception of the doors.

6" 2x4 panel in the middle of the back wall

I have a bookcase that is filled with records that I cannot move but I did put 2, 4" basstraps on the wall parallel to it.

Clouds - 3, 4" clouds spanning the whole ceiling. 1 4'x4' above my desk and 2, 2'x4's extending the rest of the room. I was not originally going to have the extra 2 but I was having modal ringing issues and these fixed them.

Early reflection:
2, 2" 2'x4's on each side.

I had 3 more 2" 2x4's in the room, 2 behind the speakers an one on a spot behind the early reflection but it was so dead in here I removed them.
Done treatment - Room EQ Wizard Results-front.jpg
Done treatment - Room EQ Wizard Results-back.jpg

It took me some time to grasp the room eq wizard program and get the levels right but I think I figured it out here are some results:
Done treatment - Room EQ Wizard Results-average.jpg
Done treatment - Room EQ Wizard Results-waterfall1.jpg