The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Just took out a loan, leased a commercial space, and having a studio built need help!
Old 18th November 2009
Here for the gear

Just took out a loan, leased a commercial space, and having a studio built need help!

Basically, the guy im leasing my commercial space from just so happens to have built quite a few studios in his day. Hes agreed to build me a full studio on a budget of 5000$ (just construction costs) but hes asking me for specs. I know absolutely nothing about building (just recording lol)

The layout of the room total is 1200 square feet (like one long loft.) The ceils are rather high around 20ft. The entry area has a badass window in the ceiling which i dubbed would be the live room, it already has a sectioned off back room (my bedroom.) Ive included pics below. I'd love to know what direction i should go in since im a newb haha. Thanks!

Last edited by Luthatdude; 18th November 2009 at 07:42 AM.. Reason: bad link
Old 18th November 2009
Lives for gear

I think 5000$ is not enough for the whole project. You mentioned that the guy has experience and he ask for specs ? maybe he is good in manual construction, this is good.

My suggestion is that you need to take more photos so people can see most of the building. For now you can build your bedroom and a control room, and as you get more work you can continue with the live room. From a first glance for me it is obvious that you can use this big door as entrance for the live room to load in-out gear in the future, so i would suggest to put the control at the back

Nikolas
Old 18th November 2009
Lives for gear

Listen,

this is a recipe for disastor..........

You know nothing about designing studios - you friend is probably a great carpenter - and I'll believe you when you say he's built quite a few studios - but HE obviously doesn't know anything about designing a studio either.......