The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
first aid room treatment
Old 2nd July 2009
Gear Head

first aid room treatment

Hey fellow slutz,

we moved house and the room that I use for my music now is aweful. Small, yet reverby, reflecting from all over the place. So before I can actually do my thing here I need some first aid room treatment.

I've never done this before so please be patient

So first of, am I placing my stuff right in the room?!
Should I move stuff around?!
I build a scale model of what I have (see attached pictures) and the only thing I can't move the missus' closet

I want to build rather cheap panels like this
John Sayers' Recording Studio Design Forum • View topic - The 25 minute, $25 acoustic panel (or $42.00 bass trap)

will those help me?!
how many do I need?!
where do I put them ideally?!

I know there's only so much one can do in a room like this, but any help is greatly appreciated

Thanks
TIM
Attached Thumbnails
first aid room treatment-room06.jpg   first aid room treatment-room05.jpg   first aid room treatment-room04.jpg   first aid room treatment-room03.jpg   first aid room treatment-room02.jpg  

first aid room treatment-room01.jpg  
Old 2nd July 2009
Gear Nut

Yes, I think this will help you out. I'm sure experts will chime in but from what I've gathered ... start with the corners and go from there. Use your ears and perhaps some measurement software for determining stuff that I don't understand yet to further fix up your space.

Best of luck to you!

-Doug
Old 2nd July 2009
Gear Addict

Looks pretty crowded already. Can you get that wardrobe out of the room? Then you'd at least have some space for bass absorbers in the rear corners.
Old 2nd July 2009

The ceiling to wall corners are a good place to start. But the time you do that, you'll have a good portion of your ceiling covered too.

Also, breaking up the wall opposite the window will probably be needed.

-tINY