The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
38 percent rule
Old 7th January 2009
Lives for gear

38 percent rule

hey all-
my room is roughly 14' x 24'...it's used for mixing as well as tracking. that puts my mix position aprox. 9' from the front wall...yikes! i'd in the middle of the room. i'm just beginning to set the room up, so it has not been fully treated yet...currently my mix pos. is set up at 5' from the front wall and the space seems to work/flow nicely. can i get away with this?

thanks for any and all help.
Old 7th January 2009
Gear Guru

First the 38% is not a rule but only a starting point. I would recommend testing the room with the following program (it is free) to see what kind of response you are getting. You can then determine what location is best.
Room EQ Wizard Home Page
Old 7th January 2009
Gear Guru

Lightbulb

Quote:
Originally Posted by dpianomn View Post
My room is roughly 14' x 24' ... my mix pos. is set up at 5' from the front wall and the space seems to work/flow nicely. can i get away with this?
As Glenn said, 38 percent is a starting point. It's also less important in larger rooms. My one-room studio is 34 feet long, and I have the mix position at one end with the speakers firing down the length.

More to the point, you'll want to add as much bass trapping as possible anyway, and that goes a long way toward reducing peaks and nulls.

--Ethan
Old 7th January 2009
Lives for gear

thank you glenn and ethan!
i'll shoot the room later today. i've got a lot of glenn's traps already and will be ordering more as soon as i can raise the capital.
Old 7th January 2009
Lives for gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by dpianomn View Post
hey all-